Court Farm Primary School

Dream Believe Achieve

Events Autumn 2017

Class Assemblies

This term there will be two class assemblies to share with our school community and you are all most welcome to attend. They will take place on Wednesday at 9.00 in the school hall.

Wednesday 18th October - Year 6

Wednesday 22nd October - Year 5

Christmas Events

Tuesday 5th December          Y3/4 to Old Rep

Wednesday 6th December    Y5/6 to Lichfield Garrick

Thursday 14th December        Christmas Dinner

Tuesday 19th December          KS2 Carol Concert

Wednesday 20th December   KS1 play 2.00

Thursday 21st  December       EYFS nativity 2.00

Secondary Transfer

On Wednesday 18th October we will be holding a drop in session for any parents in Year 6 who would like help or advice in filling in secondary transfer forms. PLease come to the office and see Miss Kerman.

Parents' Evening

Our first Parent's evening for this year will be on Wednesday 18th October and an appointment system will be used like last year. This will be a chance for you to discuss your child's targets for this term and how you can support them at home. This will take place in the hall again.

Multi-Faith Week

During the week beginning the 16th October each class will be studying a different faith during our multi-faith week. The children will be learning about the celebrations, sacred texts, places of worship and symbols and artefacts associated with their faith.

Roald Dahl Day

On Wednesday 13th September the children will be exploring the life and books of Roald Dahl through a range of exciting activities.

Events Summer 2017

Trips/Experiences

Reception Weston-Super-Mare - Friday 14th July

Year 1 RAf Cosford - Friday 7th July

Year 2 Selly Manor - Friday 14th July

Year 3 Twycross Zoo - Friday 7th July

Year 4 Warwick Castle - Friday 12th May

Year 5 Edgbaston Cricket Ground - Friday 19th May

Year 6 Residential to Blackwell Court Wednesday 28th June - Friday 30th June

Community Police Workshops

We are working closely with our Community Police Support  Officers and they will be coming in on a number of occasions this trem covering workshops on internet safety, stranger danger, road safety, anti-social behaviour and knife crime.

Open Evening

We will be holding an end of yearv open evening on Thursday 6th July. This will be an opportuninty for you to come and look at your child's work for the year and meet their teacher for next year.

Reception Graduation

As our Reception class come to  the end of this year we they will be having a graduation for them on Monday 17th July at 2.00 in the hall. You are all invited to attend.

Events Spring 2017

Parents' Evening

Our Parent's evening for this term will be on Wednesday 29th March and an appointment system will be used as usual. This will be a chance for you to discuss your child's targets for this term and how you can support them at home. This will take place in the hall again.

Health Week

Health week this year will be the week beginning the 30th January. Children will be studying a variety of topics on how to keep healthy and will also have the opportunity to visit the Life Caravan at the end of the week.

Year 4 African Drumming

This term year 4 will continue their drumming lessons.. We are hoping to invite parents along at some point to watch them perform.

Trips/Experiences

Year 1

Toy experience - Friday 13th October

 Greek Orthodox Church - Friday 20th October

Snowdome - Friday 24th November

Year 2

Locksmith's House - Friday 29th September

 Guru Nanak Nishkam Temple - Wednesday 18th October

Cinema - Monday 20th November

Year 3 

Birmingham Airport - Friday 22 September

Hindu Temple - Thursday 19th October

Year 4

Selly Manor - Wednesday 15th November

Year 5

Sea Life Centre Thursday 19th October

Year 6

Condover Hall residential - Monday 2nd - 4th October

Enabling Enterprise visit - Friday 6th October

Aston Mosque - Thursday 19th October

Space Centre - Thursday 16th November

Head Boy & Head Girl

During the first two weeks of October the children in Year 6 will be applying for the position of Head Boy and Head Girl. On Tuesday 17th October the final three boy and girl candidates will be making their speeches to the whole school hoping to get their votes later in the day.

Reception Intake 2018

We will be holding two open sessions for you to come and have a look around the school and speak to staff if your child is due to start school in September 2018. They will be held on Tuesday 10th October 9.30 -11.30 and Friday 20th October 1.30 -3.00.

Meet and Greet

Class teachers will be holding a short meeting in their classrooms after school for you to meet them and receive any information about the upcoming year.

Thursday 14th September Y4

Monday 18th September Y2

Tuesday 19th September Y1

Wednesday 20th September Y3

Thursday 21st September Y6

Friday 22nd September Y5

The Big Sleuth

For the last two summers there have been trails around Birmingham consisting of owls and benches decorated by Birmingham schools. This year, from 28th June, there will be a trail of sun bears around the city for everyone to see. This year local artists and schools have been decorating the bears. We have been working hard on our bear - Mary Beary and the Great British Bear Off- and it will be on display in Boldmere throughout the summer so make sure that you go and find it and have a look.

Bikeability

On Tuesday 2nd May there will be a bikeability course in school for a group of children from Y3/4.

Monday 26th - Wednesday 28th June, bikeability for Y5/6.

Class assemblies

You are all welcome to attend our class assemblies this term. They will be held at 9.00 on Wednesday mornings.

Wednesday 10th May - Year 2

Wednesday 24th May - Year 3

Wednesday 14th June - Year 5

Wednesday 28th June - Year 1

Wednesday 12th July - Year 4

 

Class Photos

End of year class photos and Year 6 leavers photos will be taken on Monday 19th June.

Awards Evening

This year we will be holding our Year 6 Awards Evening on friday 14th July at 6.00. This is an opportunity for us to celebrate the successes of the children in Year 6 during their time at Court Farm School. The evening will begin with the awards and then the children will stay for a disco. We look forward to seeing you all there.

Leavers' Assembly

Year 6 will be performing their Leavers' Assembly at 9.15 on Thursday 20th July. We hope that you can come and join us to celebrate their time at Court Farm.

Easter Bonnet Parade and Egg Challenge

On Friday 7th April we are having our Easter Bonnet Parade at 2:15pm. We have asked all children in reception, years 1 and years 2 to bring in a home made Easter Bonnet. Children in years 3, 4, 5 and 6 have been challenged to create something wild and wacky with eggs... come back soon for pictures of the winners.

World Book Day

Thursday 2nd March is World Book day and this year we will be having a theme around famous bears in books to tie in with the Big Sleuth learning programme. This is Birmingham's latest trail for the summer - we've had owls, we've had benches and this year it is bears.

We are inviting everyone to dress up as a bear or wear something along the bear theme on this day.

We are also holding a teddy bears' picnic on Friday 3rd March in order to raise funds for Birmingham Children's Hospital  - please donate £1.

Enterprise fortnight

We are having an enterprise fortnight beginning the 6th February. Years 1-6 will be working on enterprise schemes and running their own business. We are working with Enabling Enterprise and looking forward to seeing how business minded our pupils are. Year 4 will also be having an extra enterprise day run by Enabling Enterprise on Tuesday 7th February.

.

Trips/Experiences

Reception Clown visit - Thursday 16th February

Year 1 Tamworth Snowdome - Thursday 2nd February

Year 2 

Year 3 

Year 4 Safari Park - Thursday 9th March

Year 5 Tamworth Castle - Thursday 2nd February

Year 6

Anti-bullying workshop

On Tuesday 22nd November Freshwater Theatre Company will be visiting us to do a performance and then workshops around anti-bullying.

Photos

Academy photography will be in school on Wednesday 19th October to take individual and family photographs. Make sure that you look extra smart on that day.